Gabriel Rumbaut's Blog

Confessions of an Earthbound Misfit

99 Real Ministories That Will Make You Feel Better About Life

One of my biggest struggles with writing is that my end goal–being a published fantasy author–seems so far off. I’m the kind of person who needs to see things happening in order to feel like I’m actually doing something. This often makes me feel like I’m in a rut. Though I have accomplished a lot, I sometimes feel like I’m going nowhere, and forget how good life can be.

I was feeling a little like this yesterday–until I read this post over on Marc and Angel Hack Life. These 99 stories, mostly about life actually working for people (as opposed to the constant barrage of negativity we normally receive on the news), definitely made me feel better. Here are a few of my favorite entries:

Today, it’s been ten years since my abusive ex-fiancé sold my favorite guitar. He sold it on the day I left him. When I went to claim my belongings, he was proud that he had sold it to a pawn shop. Luckily, I managed to track down the guy who bought it from the pawn shop. He was really sweet, and gave it back to me for free, on the condition that I accompany him on his front porch for an hour to play guitar with him. He grabbed a second guitar and we ended up sitting there on his porch for the rest of the afternoon playing music, talking, and smiling. He’s been my husband for nine years now. MMT

Today I turned 10. Yes I was born on 9-11-2001. My mom worked in the World Trade Center but wasn’t at work that day because she was giving birth to me. MMT

Today, as we were eating lunch at a diner my boyfriend leaned over and gave me a kiss on the cheek every few minutes when someone walked by. When I noticed what he was doing, I asked why. He said, “I want them to know you’re my girl.” We’re both in our mid-70’s and lost our spouses to cancer about 10 years ago. Second chances at love MMT.

Today, I operated on a little girl that was in a car accident. She desperately needed O- blood, which is a bit rare. We didn’t have any available, but her twin brother was at the hospital who had O- blood. I explained to him that it was a matter of life and death – that his sister needed his blood. He sat quietly for a moment, and then said goodbye to his parents. I didn’t think anything of it until after we took the blood we needed and he asked, “So when will I die?” He thought he was giving his life for hers. Thankfully, they’ll both be fine. MMT

Check it out. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Have you had any serendipitous moments that have given you pause or times when life just seemed to click for you? I’d love to hear your stories.

Via: Marc and Angel Hack Life

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “99 Real Ministories That Will Make You Feel Better About Life

  1. Thanks for sharing this link. I can always use some cheering up. 🙂

    If you really love writing fantasy, don’t ever give up on it (no matter how many blogs you might read about the chaos in the publishing industry – *ahem*). A lot of people never discover something that they love that much. It is a dream worth chasing.

  2. Tami Clayton on said:

    LOVE these stories! What wonderful reminders of what’s truly important in life & the amazing power of love. Thanks for sharing this. I plan to check out the site.

  3. Great post! We all need a little distraction, encouragement and reminder sometimes of how good life can be. And the stories you chose to present are amazing. Thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

