Gabriel Rumbaut's Blog

Confessions of an Earthbound Misfit

The Secret Awesomeness of the Nintendo 3DS

The Nintendo 3DS is a fantastic little system that’s a far cry from the green-hued Game Boy brick I used to carry around as a kid. In addition to the neat 3D effects (achieved without glasses!), it also has a ton of cool features, like downloadable games, Netflix capabilities, and awesome graphics. The games are only a few steps below what can be found on the system’s console cousins, which to someone from the black-and-white portable age is astounding.

Unlike the 3DS, which fits in a pocket, I used to have to carry the Game Boy around in a thing the size of a messenger bag. (Kids today are lucky.)

One of the neatest things about the 3DS is its Street Pass feature, which allows users’ 3DS consoles to automatically beam their Miis to other nearby systems. Miis you receive can even be used in games. After meeting someone twice, you can also send a personal message to the person. Working in a big city, I’ve come across dozens of Miis, but the one I got today really stood out. In this individual’s personal message, I received a tinyurl. I was a bit hesitant to visit it, but I did anyway. Here’s what I found:

Holy crap. This completely blew my mind. A video greeting through the 3DS’s street pass from a random stranger? Amazing.

Man, video games have come such a long way. I remember wondering as a kid if Nintendo would ever introduce color to their portable consoles. Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine something like this.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

